Good Practices for Climate Action: Virtual Pitch Corner of the 3rd Climate Chance Summit – Africa 2021!

The 3rd edition of the Climate Chance Summit - Africa 2021, which will be held from September 15th to the 17th in a virtual format, will give project leaders from the African continent the opportunity to promote and boost their initiatives within the virtual Pitch Corner 2021!

sans-titre-22

So… what is the Pitch Corner?

The Climate Chance Pitch Corner is a virtual space dedicated to the presentation of best practices in order to share methods, replicable initiatives, and to provide as much as possible a network for non-state actors committed to the fight against climate change from various regions of Africa and the world.

The 2021 call for contributions: a success with over 250 new projects received!

  • A total of 131 initiatives selected for the Cartography
    Of which 73 projects selected for the Pitch Corner

For the Pitch Corner, the selected projects’ leaders have created 3-minutes videos presenting their initiative, which will be broadcasted during the Climate Chance Summit – Africa 2021, as well as in some of the workshops included in the program

You will always be able to watch them on the Climate Chance Association’s YouTube channel.

Don’t forget to register for the different sessions you are interested in! To see the program, click here!

A great diversity of actors and themes among the selected and showcased new projects

The vast majority of contributions came from NGOs (54%), many of which are at the local level. Another important part of the projects comes from businesses (20.6%), mostly locally based, which seek to bring concrete solutions to populations, while promoting sustainable development.

There are also multi-stakeholder projects, initiatives led by local authorities and municipalities, research and science actors and, projects led by youth organisations, farmers’ organisations, and indigenous peoples’ organisations.

Many projects are associated with several areas of action at the same time. However, two themes take precedence, and remain the common thread within most activities: food security and the improvement of living conditions (including health) of local populations. 

Despite these priorities and overall precarious situations, the emphasis is placed on the complementarity of efforts to also ensure the preservation, and even restoration with Nature-based Solutions (NbS), of the environment and its biodiversity, while mitigating greenhouse gas emissions: fighting against and adapting to climate change, and promoting sustainable and more equitable socio-economic development. 

An example of an initiative that is developed in several African countries is the distribution, one way or another, of improved cooking stoves within villages: it’s meant to address the concerning issue of the health of women and children, the most exposed, as well as deforestation.

Agriculture is the most important sector that is found at the core of projects, as it is often linked to other fields, such as better management of soil, water, forests, etc., and is reflected within different specialties.

It is a sector that is tightly associated with Adaptation and Resilience of populations, but also with Education and Training, which is in fact the other field of action that is strongly emphasised: raising awareness of the inhabitants about the need to protect the environment, and the issues of climate change, but also and above all, giving them the means and tools to increase their capacities in order to face their various challenges. 

There are a lot of efforts deployed to build women’s resilience, and a clear willingness to involve young people: engage them in the fight against climate change, while helping them develop professional skills.

Energy is another area of concern, as too many populations do not have access to it: efforts are focused on renewable and cleaner solutions, and some projects present the implementation of a Climate Energy Plan, while capitalising on the valorisation of waste; others concentrate their efforts on the electrification of villages using renewable energies, or to favour a broader and more equitable access by emphasising the renewable energy production capacities of rural territories.

Another sector addressed is Mobility: developing sustainable transport networks, offering sustainable mobility services, or promoting green, non-motorised routes. 

Explore the diversity of all these good practices on our Cartography for Action and Pitch Corner within the Climate Chance Summit – Africa 2021

Bonnes pratiques de l’action climat 2021 : Pitch Corner Virtuel du 3eme Sommet Climate Chance Afrique !

La 3ème édition du Sommet Climate Chance Afrique 2021 qui se tiendra du 15 au 17 septembre 2021 en format virtuel donnera l'opportunité aux porteurs de projets du continent africain, de valoriser et booster leurs initiatives dans le cadre du Pitch Corner 2021.

sans-titre-22

Le Pitch Corner … C’est quoi ?

Le Pitch Corner de Climate Chance offre un espace virtuel dédié à la présentation de bonnes pratiques pour l’action climat afin de partager des méthodes, des initiatives réplicables et de mettre en réseau les acteurs non-étatiques des diverses régions d’Afrique et dans le monde, engagés dans la lutte contre le changement climatique.

L’appel à contributions 2021 : un succès avec 250 nouveaux projets reçus !

  • Un total de 131 initiatives sélectionnés intégrant la  Cartographie de l’action
    Dont 73 projets sélectionnés pour le Pitch Corner

Les porteurs de projets retenus pour le Pitch Corner ont réalisé des vidéos de 3 minutes présentant leur initiative qui seront diffusées tout au long du Sommet Climate Chance Afrique 2021, ainsi que dans certains ateliers inscrits au programme

Ils seront aussi sur la chaîne YouTube de l’Association Climate Chance.

N’oubliez pas de vous inscrire aux différentes sessions qui vous intéressent ! Pour voir le programme, c’est ici !

Une grande diversité d’acteurs et de thématiques climat parmi les nouveaux projets présentés et sélectionnés

La grande majorité des contributions sont issues d’ONG (54%), dont beaucoup sont à l’échelle locale. Une autre part importante des projets vient d’entreprises (21%), pour la plupart aussi implantées localement, qui souhaitent apporter des solutions concrètes aux populations tout en favorisant un développement durable.

On retrouve également des projets multi-acteurs, des initiatives portées par des collectivités territoriales-Municipalités, des acteurs de la Recherche et des Sciences, des projets menés par des organisations pour la jeunesse, des organisations paysannes, ainsi que des organisations de peuples autochtones.

Beaucoup de projets sont associés à plusieurs domaines d’action en même temps. Toutefois, 2 thèmes dominent et restent le fil conducteur des activités : la sécurité alimentaire et l’amélioration des conditions de vie (santé comprise) des populations locales. 

Malgré ces priorités et les situations précaires, l’accent est mis sur la complémentarité des efforts pour également assurer une préservation, voire restauration de l’environnement et de sa biodiversité, avec des Solutions fondées sur la Nature (SfN), ainsi que la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre : lutter contre le changement climatique, s’y adapter et favoriser un développement socio-économique durable et plus équitable. 

Un exemple d’initiative qui se distingue dans plusieurs pays d’Afrique est la distribution, d’une façon ou d’une autre, de foyers améliorés au sein de villages : la question de la santé des femmes et des enfants, les plus concernés, est une grande inquiétude ; et en parallèle, les problèmes de déboisement.

L’agriculture est le domaine d’action qui prime, souvent lié à d’autres domaines, comme une meilleure gestion des sols, de l’eau, des forêts, etc., et décliné dans diverses spécialités.

C’est un secteur qui est résolument associé à l’Adaptation et la Résilience des populations, mais aussi à l’Éducation et Formation, qui est en fait l’autre domaine d’action qui est fortement mis en avant : sensibiliser les habitants sur la nécessité de protéger l’environnement et les questions du changement climatiques, mais aussi et surtout leur donner les moyens et outils d’accroître leurs capacités afin de faire face aux divers défis. 

Beaucoup d’efforts portent sur le renforcement de la résilience des femmes et une volonté évidente d’impliquer les jeunes: les inciter à s’engager dans la lutte contre le changement climatique tout en leur donnant des compétences professionnelles.

Le domaine de l’Énergie est un autre sujet de préoccupation puisque trop de populations n’y ont pas accès : les efforts portent sur des solutions renouvelables, plus propres et certains projets présentent la mise en place d’un Plan Climat Énergie, tout en capitalisant sur une valorisation des déchets ; d’autres concentrent leurs efforts sur l’électrification de villages en utilisant des énergies renouvelables, ou encore pour favoriser un accès plus large et plus équitable en mettant l’accent sur les capacités de production d’énergies renouvelables des territoires ruraux.

Un autre domaine d’action est celui de la Mobilité : développer des réseaux de transport durable, offrir des services de mobilité durable, ou encore favoriser des voies vertes, non-motorisées. 

Retrouvez la diversité de toutes ces bonnes pratiques sur notre Cartographie et Pitch Corner dans le cadre du Sommet Climate Chance Afrique 2021 !