13/12, 5:00pm: Climate Chance Steering Committee

Climate Chance takes the opportunity of the presence of numerous non-state climate actors in COP24, Katowice, to bring together its partners for a steering committee, followed by a convivial evening. We hope to meet you there!

Where and when?

Thursday 13 December 2018 from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Followed by a convivial evening
At the Katowice Philharmonic- Poland
Silésie Henryk Mikołaj Górecki Philharmonic, Katowice, ul. Sokolska 2

Description

Meeting in the presence of Ronan Dantec, President of the Association, French Senator, spokesperson on climate for UCLG, Vanessa Laubin, Executive Director, Romain Crouzet, Programs Coordinator, Leila Yassine, Program Coordinator- Africa, and Antoine Gillod, of the Observatory.

The year 2018 is a key moment for Climate Chance. After 3 international summits the years before, two in France and one in Morocco, we have decided in 2018 to launch new worksites :

  • A new website with a portal of the climate action gathering : a map of the non-state actors climate actions, a climate library, a climate agenda, the road maps of the different sectoral coalitions that are gathered within Climate Chance.
  • The Climate Chance Observatory that published its first annual report at the end of November. It is a one of a kind initiative with a mission to analyze the reality of the non-state actions impact on the evolution of Grenhouse Gas Emissions.
  • Regional events in Europe and in Africa:

I – Climate Chance, EESC, CoR jointly co-organized in April in Brussels a “European Dialogue on the Non-State Climate Action”. The objective of this dialogue is to propose an action plan that aims to evaluate, recognize, accelerate and support positive actions in terms of climate that are conducted by non-state actors (civil society, businesses, workers) and the local authorities (regions and cities). This event was part of the Talanoa Dialogue framework at the European scale et has hosted the High-Level Champion- Tomasz Chruszczow

II – The Climate Chance Summit – Africa, that took place on June 2018 in Abidjan- Ivory Coast, in partnership with the ARDCI, has gathered 600 non-state actors from all the African continent. These actors are all engaged in fighting climate change and ready to work together in sectoral coalitions organized in common road maps, confirming thus the plus value of the non-state actors and the multi-level carried by Climate Chance. We had an update on this dynamic when we organized some of the sessions in Africities (end of November in Marrakech – Morocco)

In order to conduct a review of the year 2018, but mainly to involve you in our next activities development, we invite you to our Climate Chance Steering Committee, on December 13, at the COP24 in Katowice. We hope that many of you will attend.

Agenda

  • A quick look at the 2018 novelties for a better implication of our partners in the 2019.

– Portal of the climate action: How to move faster and better pool the efforts with the partners of Climate Chance.
– First report of the Climate Chance Observatory: what are the implications of the 2018 edition report, what orientation will be privileged for the 2019 editions and what is the role of our partners in this edition?

  • A report back on the 2018 events and next steps for 2019-2020

– A report back on the year 2018 and of the COP24 : what is the common advocacy for the non-state actors for the 2019 year in a more complex international context? Perspectives from the UN Summit, COP25, etc..
– European strategy of Climate Chance: a return to Europe to prepare.
– African Strategy of Climate Chance that needs to be stabilized after a first successful African summit: what are the priorities, our partners expectations and the next deadlines in Africa? One Planet Summit in Nairobi, The African Climate Week, Climate Chance Africa 2019 in Accra, France-Africa Summit in 2020.

  • Convivial evening after the meeting for more informal exchange (food offered / drinks chargeable extra)
KINDLY CONFIRM YOUR PRESENCE BEFORE 1 DECEMBER 2018 BY CLICKING ON THE FOLLOWING LINK

02 Déc 2018
Négociations climatiques

13/12, 17h00 : Comité d’orientation stratégique Climate Chance

Climate Chance profite de la présence de nombreux acteurs à la COP24 à Katowice en Pologne pour réunir ses partenaires lors d'un comité d'orientation stratégique, suivi d'un apéritif dinatoire pour clore notre réunion dans la convivialité. Nous espérons vous y retrouver nombreuses et nombreux !

Où et quand?

Jeudi 13 Décembre 2018 de 17h00 à 19h00
Suivi d’une soirée conviviale (apéritif dinatoire)
à la Philharmonie de Katowice – Pologne
Philharmonie de Silésie Henryk Mikołaj Górecki, Katowice, ul. Sokolska 2

Présentation

Réunion en présence de Ronan Dantec, Président de l’association, sénateur français et porte-parole climat de CGLU, Vanessa Laubin, Déléguée générale, Romain Crouzet, coordinateur des programmes, Leila Yassine, chargée du programme Afrique et Antoine Gillod, en charge de l’Observatoire

L’année 2018 restera une année clé pour l’Association Climate Chance. Après 3 sommets internationaux les années précédentes, deux en France et un au Maroc, nous avons décidé en 2018 de lancer de nouveaux chantiers, et pas des moindres.

  • Un nouveau site internet avec un portail de l’action climat regroupant : une cartographie de l’action climat des acteurs non-étatiques, une bibliothèque du climat, un agenda du climat, les feuilles de route des différentes coalitions thématiques fédérées au sein de Climate Chance.
  • Un Observatoire mondial de l’action climatique non-étatique qui publie son premier rapport à la fin du mois de novembre : initiative unique en son genre avec pour mission d’analyser la réalité de l’impact des actions non-étatiques sur l’évolution des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Des événements régionaux en Europe et en Afrique :

I – Climate Chance, CESE, et CdR ont organisé conjointement en avril à Bruxelles un “Dialogue européen de l’action non-étatique pour le climat”, dont l’objectif était de proposer un plan d’action visant à évaluer, reconnaître, accélérer et soutenir les actions positives en matière de climat menées par des acteurs non étatiques (société civile, entreprises, travailleurs) et les autorités infranationales (régions et villes). L’événement s’est inscrit dans le cadre du dialogue de Talanoa à l’échelle européenne et a compté sur la présence du Champion de Haut Niveau – Tomasz Chruszczow.

II – Le Sommet Climate Chance Afrique qui s’est déroulé fin juin 2018 à Abidjan – Côte d’Ivoire, en partenariat avec l’ARDCI, et a rassemblé – sur invitation – 600 acteurs non-étatiques de tout le continent africain, tous engagés dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique et prêts à travailler ensemble dans les dynamiques de coalitions sectorielles fédérées autour de feuilles de route communes, confirmant la plus-value de l’approche multi-acteurs et multi-niveaux autour de coalitions sectorielles portées par Climate Chance. Nous faisons un point d’étape de cette dynamique en organisant quelques-unes des sessions d’Africités, fin novembre à Marrakech – Maroc.

Pour faire le bilan de cette année 2018, mais surtout afin de vous associer aux prochains développements de nos activités, nous vous invitons au prochain Comité d’Orientation Stratégique (COS) de l’association, le 13 décembre. Nous profiterons de l’occasion de la COP24 à Katowice pour ce COS, en espérant que vous y serez nombreux.

Ordre du jour

  • Rapide retour sur les nouveautés 2018 : pour une meilleure implication de nos partenaires dans ces dispositifs en 2019

– Portail de l’action climat : comment passer à la vitesse supérieure et mieux mutualiser les efforts avec les partenaires de Climate Chance ?
– 1er rapport de l’Observatoire Climate Chance : quelles répercutions de l’édition 2018 du rapport, quelle orientation privilégier pour l’édition 2019 et quelle place aux partenaires dans cette édition ?

  • Bilan des événements 2018 et prochaines étapes 2019 – 2020

– Bilan de l’année 2018 et de la COP24 : quel plaidoyer commun aux acteurs non-étatiques pour 2019, dans un contexte international encore plus complexe ? Perspective du Sommet des Nations Unies, de la COP25, etc.
– Stratégie européenne de Climate Chance : un retour en Europe à préparer.
– Stratégie africaine de Climate Chance à stabiliser après un 1er sommet africain réussi : quelles priorités, attentes des partenaires et prochaines échéances en Afrique ? Perspective du One Planet Summit à Nairobi, de l’African Climate Week, du Climate Chance Afrique 2019 à Accra, du sommet Afrique – France de 2020.

  • Apéritif dinatoire pour clore la réunion par un temps d’échange et de convivialité (nourriture offerte / boissons payantes)
Merci de confirmer obligatoirement votre présence en cliquant sur ce lien