Climate Chance Summit – Africa 2021

High-level plenary – From Glasgow 2021 to Dakar 2022: Priorities for Climate Action and Sustainable Mobility Africa – Climate Chance, CODATU, CETUD

Watch the recording of the session here:

Opening ceremony of the Climate Chance Summit Africa 2021 – High-level plenary

From Glasgow 2021 to Dakar 2022: Priorities for Climate Action and Sustainable Mobility Africa

8:30 – 10:45 UTC, Dakar Time / 10:30 – 12:45 UTC +2? Paris Time

This plenary session Climate Chance, CODATU and CETUD will mark the official start of the Climate Chance Africa Summit, 2021. It will gather several high level speakers, from around the world and across sectors of climate action, and set the pace for the summit.

➡️ This High-level online Plenary in the run up to COP26 in Glasgow, aims to

  • Launch a working year for the preparation of the SMDC (Week for Sustainable Mobility and Climate), in September 2022 in Dakar.
  • Identify key priorities for climate action and sustainable mobility in Africa.

With the overall goal of preparing the COP27, which will be held in Africa.🌍

Agenda and Speakers:

Introduction (15min) 08:30 UTC Dakar / 10:30 UTC+2 Paris

  • François Durovray, President of CODATU
  • Ronan Dantec, President of Climate Chance Association
  • Thierno Birahim Aw, Director of CETUD
  • Nigel Topping, High-level Climate Champion, UNFCCC
  • Ambroise Fayolle, Vice-President of the European Investment Bank

3 Roundtables from 8:45 – 10:15 UTC Dakar / 10:45 – 12:15 UTC+2 Paris

➡️ Roundtable #1 Mobility

“How can we make mobility part of a sustainable system and contribute to a better environment and climate?”

Moderated by Françoise Rossignol, Vice-president in charge of mobility and transport, Urban Community of Arras, France. Vice-president of GART, International Cooperation delegate. Member of the CODATU board

  • Jean Todt, Ambassador of the United Nations organisation for Road Safety
  • Lise Breuil, Head of Transport and Mobility at the French Development Agency
  • Armand Pierre Roland Béouindé, Mayor of the City of Ouagadougou
  • Charlène Kouassi, Director of the African Observatory for Mobility
  • Khadim Cissé, Director of Studies and Strategy, CETUD

➡️ Roundtable #2 Local Action

Thread: “How can effective decentralisation and vertical integration accelerate the implementation of climate and local development policies and actions?

Moderated by Jean-Pierre Elong Mbassi, Secretary General of UCLG Africa.

  • Aliou Sall, President of the Association of Mayors of Senegal, Mayor of Guédiawaye
  • El Hadji Ndiaye, PCTI & COMSSA referent City of Dakar
  • Baba Dramé, Ministry of Environment, DEEC
  • Tunji Bello, Honorable Commissioner for the Environment and Water Resources at the State of Lagos
  • Gilles Vermot-Desroches, Corporate Citizenship Senior Vice President de Schneider Electric
  • Secou Sarr, Director of Enda Energie 
  • Zenabou Segda, Women Environmental Programme, Burkina Faso

➡️ Roundtable #3 Access to finance

“What needs for increased mobilisation of climate finance for development and climate action at the local level?

Moderated by Emilie Maehara, Deputy Executive Director-Director of Programmes of the FMDV

  • Aurélio Menendez, Manager of the Senegalese, World Bank 
  • Al Hamdou Dorsouma, Acting Director Climate Change and Green Growth Department, African Development Bank
  • Neil Valentine, European Investment Bank
  • Alexandre Pointier, Director of the French Development Agency in Senegal, Gambia, Cape Verde and the Guinea-Bissau
  • Sébastien Soleille, Head of the Energy and Environmental Transition, BNP Paribas

Conclusion (30min) – 10:15 UTC Dakar / 12:15 UTC+2 Paris

Moderated by Bernard Soulage, Secretary general of the Climate Chance Association

  • Ronan Dantec, President of the Climate Chance Association
  • Thibault de Lambert, Secretary general of CODATU
  • Thierno Birahim Aw, Managing Director of CETUD

Innovation prize award ceremony by Irène Mingasson, Ambassador of the European Union in Senegal

  • Cheikh Ndiaye, Project Director at the SNCF and President of the Innovation prize jury
  • Lamine Ndiaye, Innovation prize winner
  • Irène Mingasson, Ambassador of the European Union in Senegal

Closing remarks by:

  • Sakhoudia THIAM, Technical Advisor to the Minister of Environment in Senegal
  • Aubin Jules Marcel SAGNA, Secretary general of the Ministry for Infrastructure and Transport of Senegal