Climate Chance Summit Africa 2018

Opening plenary session

The African continent is particularly vulnerable to the effects of climate change, which exacerbate already sensitive issues across various aspects such as town planning, mobility, waste management, soil conservation, access to water, agriculture, access to energy, etc.

Africa is increasingly aware of the need to anticipate climate stakes and to address environmental as well as socio-economic challenges. This in turn engenders the pressing issue of balancing immediate development priorities with long-term needs in terms of climate resilience. African cities are especially under pressure and must increase their capacity to quickly mitigate and adapt to climate change. Around thirty cities have thus developed climate-focused initiatives within the framework of the Covenant of Mayors, and the initiatives and experiments of non-state actors continue to flourish on the field.

One of the key issues affecting African actors is access to funding for projects compatible with the 2°C scenario. Indeed, considerable progress is yet to be made in terms of access by non-state African actors to funding – with some substantial proposals already presented – especially since the One Planet Summit in Paris in December 2017. This plenary will therefore serve as an opportunity to take stock of the progress made and what can be set up.

This plenary will bring together Non-State Actors and funders. The debate will highlight that only multi-stakeholders and multi-level solutions are efficient to address climate change throughout the territories.

Event speakers:

Official Opening

●      Robert Beugré Mambe, Governor of the Abidjan Autonomous District – Republic of Ivory Coast.
●      Dr Eugène Aouélé Aka Aoulé, Chairman of the ARDCI, Assembly of Ivory Coast’s Regions and Districts.
●      Ronan Dantec, President of the Climate Chance Association.
●      Tomasz Chruszczow, High-Level Champion for Climate Action, UNFCCC.
●      Jeannot Ahoussou Kouadio, President of the Senate of the Republic of Ivory Coast.
●      Amadou Gon Coulibaly, Prime Minister, Head of Governement of the Republic of Ivory Coast (to be confirmed).
●      Daniel Kablan Duncan, Vice-president of the Republic of Ivory Coast.

Discussion led by Vanessa Laubin, Executive director of the Climate Chance Association with:

Proposals of selected non-state actors regarding the challenges of access to funding…

●      Hajjat Sarah Kanyike, Deputy Major of Kampala, Ouganda (Covenant of Mayors for Sub-Saharan Africa) – LGMA
●      Donatien Beugré, President of the Regional Council of San Pedro, 5th Vice-President of the ARDCI, Climate focal point of the ARDCI, Ivory Coast – LGMA
●      One representative of the African International Chamber of Commerce – BINGO
●      Secou Sarr, ENDA Energy Director – ENGO
●      Azehoun Vihou Christelle Mariane OFQJ, Franco-Quebecois Youth Office –  YOUNGO
●      Mamadou Cissokho, Honorary President of the ROPPA- FARMERS
●     Agnes Mirembe, ARUWE Programme Director, Uganda – WGC

… and the reactions of a panel of funders to the proposals of the non-state actors.

●      Davinah Milenge-Uwella, Senior Expert in Climate Change and Environment at the African Development Bank -AFDB.

●      Jean-Louis Menann-Kouame, Chief Executive Officer of the International Bank for Commerce and Industry of Ivory Coast (BICICI), subsidiary of the BNP Paribas group.

●      Gaël Giraud, Chief Economist and Executive Director of the Innovation, Research and Knowledge department, Agence française de développement (AFD).

●      Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu, Green Climate Fund Administrator.

●     Felice Zaccheo, Head of sustainable energy and climate change Unit, DG DEVCO, European  Commission